international zine month: week 4 and 5

After catching up from about half a week off I’m a little behind on posting this, but I’ve been keeping up with my reading and prepared a bit in advance. Here too are the final prompts, which means we’re down to the last seven days. I’ve been a big proponent of libraries and zine education so I feel its alright to slack a little this week if I must. I tried to set up two different workshops but both were cancelled due to changes with the other parties I was working with. At first I was pretty bummed and was ready to try a third time, but then I realized it just wasn’t meant to be and I can always do more in the future. I also started the Milwaukee Zine Fest, which I continue to organize with a group of local zinesters. So even if I haven’t been able to work on an event this month I’m always working toward the big yearly event in the fall.

If you didn’t already be sure to check out a zine library in person or online. It’s something I’ve been active with for a decade, as I wrote about briefly in other posts this month, so you know I love it and have devoted so much of my life to collecting and teaching. If you can send your own zines to at least one library and help keep them going. It’s really rewarding to know that people are using your work for recreation, research, and inspiration for generations to come.

I had plans to make a new one page zine but time and energy got away from me. Instead I’ll be sharing the most recent one I made for the girls mentor group I lead last fall/winter. Look forward to that very soon. I made big moves on organizing my collection last week but like gardening I feel its never totally done, always just taking steps towards being easier to leaf through. I also recently sent a piece to a compilation zine so that was completed before it began. Sure I could send another but I think that’s something that’s best done when the right project comes along.

There will be one more post after this about the end of this project so check back in just over a week from now. I hope your zine month has been great. Feel free to share what you were up to or even just a few highlights, like what was unexpected, what you produced, etc. Even if you haven’t worked on any prompts until now you can always pick it up and finish this last week. Why not, right?

.

ZINE LIBRARY AND ZINE EDUCATION WEEK

21 – International Zine Library Day! Visit your local zine library!

22 – Send your zine to a zine library.

23 – Make a 1 page zine. Here are some instructions.

24 – Organize your zine collection.

25 – Teach a friend or family member about zines.

26- Submit something to a compilation zine.

27 – Organize a zine event! A zine reading or a zine fair or fest or even just for friends to get together and work on their zines.

JUST FOR FUN WEEK

28 – Cook with a recipe from a zine or cook zine!

29- Post a photo online of you with your zine or your zine collection.

30 – Read some zines! Lay in bed and read zines all day if you can!

31 – Log into WeMakeZine and write about your experience or write about it on your own blog.

Leave a Reply

