international zine month: week 2

So, how’s your zine month going? This week is Postal Appreciation Week! I’m looking forward to the review and trade days since I haven’t sent either in a while.

7 – Make or decorate some envelopes or postcards to get ready for the week.

8- Make a little flyer for your zine to send out with orders and see if other people will trade for stacks of them so you can all promote each other. (beginning of Ramadan, Muslim zine friends can pick back up on August 8th)

9 – Write a letter to a zine maker that you don’t know.

10 – Send a care package to a zine creator that you do know.

11 – Make some mail art!

12 – Send your zine out to be reviewed.

13 – Zine Trade Day! Ask someone if they would like to trade zines with you.

14 – ValenZINE’s Day! Write to your zine crush, or write to ZineCrush.com

Last week had a few changes in my reading list. I had a some extra shifts at work so while I had less free time to read I was able to reread some old minis. If anyone has wallet size suggestions for me to pick up please let me know (your own or ones you enjoy).

A Million Birthdays #10, Rock Star with Words #4.5, Words Like Thieves #6, Dear Gwen PS (included with Girl Swirl #10), Into the Grid. Next up I’ve got Zines and How To Be a Good Zine Citizen (both quick primers to bring with for my upcoming YA workshop), Kurt Cobain Was a Feminist, Just Married, and Angry Violist (two issues, 6 and maybe 5? I can’t remember off hand). I’m also rereading the book Girl Zines when I’ve got the time. The past week has been really busy so I’ll update this with more antics soon.

Leave a Reply

