Ideas for next project: 90’s Ladies – TV

For the next issue I’ll be going back to my idea of 90’s Ladies of Inspiration. I’ve been thinking about doing something like this for almost a year but now the timing seems right. I’ve always been an avid television viewer and it was influential to me as a teenager growing up in the 90’s. I am a Media Studies student and enjoy writing about how media affects us, especially at the fan/cult level. There were a lot of positive anti-hero women on television in the 90’s and though they were flawed (and often because of this) they really spoke to me and many other young women at the time. Most have endured into present day consciousness nearly a decade later – some with as little as under a single season of screen time- and all epitomize the strange female fashion of the early to mid 90’s.

I started my current zine series, The Obsesser, with the intention of blending perzine and fanzine and writing about different topics I “obsessed” over (though I use obsession loosely). Here I will be writing a fanzine for the first time in the writing workshop and will be doing something nonfictional. Originally I was going to do illustrations but I’ve been enjoying the cut n paste sensibility I’ve been working with (which I haven’t been doing as often in the last 5+ years).

Though I just started looking for images it’s been really fun to think of these ladies as a collective. I generally immerse myself in a season or series individually and through this I’ve begun to make comparisons and seen how these characters form our idea of the 90’s woman.

I think this will be the first volume because there are so many examples, especially if you go beyond TV (of course there were some amazing examples of women in music during this time). If this goes well I’ll continue. This is the first try.

 .

Some of the characters I’m considering using:

Roseanne Connor (Darlene and Becky)

Rachel Green (Monica and Phoebe)

Angela Chase (Rayanne Graff)

Buffy Summers (Willow Rosenberg)

Clarissa Darling

Elaine Benes

Dana Scully

Janeane Garofalo (The Ben Stiller Show)

Leave a Reply

