unfortunately i am not weird al: gwg #9

I’ve struggled with this one. I love Weird Al and am musically inclined, but I just could not think of how to do this for the life of me. Every time it came to mind I got My Sharona stuck in there and that’s it. Perhaps it was because I was listening to my Reality Bites official soundtrack cassette just before I read the prompt. Perhaps it was because in the back of my mind I remembered The Dead Kennedy’s parody of that song, which I listened to quite often in high school (drool drool drool drool… my payola!). I don’t know if that’s enough but I just couldn’t do it. I kept thinking about Heart of Glass, a love song, something about being hot and cold, roses (since they were going nuts for the last few weeks)… I’m not sure. Others had pretty good interpretations and it left me feeling a little let down that I couldn’t come up with something fun and silly.

Then, this little thing came to me. I kind of feel like blushing since its so silly but here was my first attempt at parody:

Garden Grrrl, Garden Grrrl, Garden Grrrl you are the queen of my world!

but that’s just too much. Really, this next one could almost work on its own as a garden-inspired song if you wanted to read it that way. I give you the parody of Hole’s Violet.

hole-live-through-thisAnd the sky was made of sapphires
And all the stars were just like little fires
You should learn when to hoe
You should learn how to say no

Might last a day yeah
Might try forever
Might last a day, yeah
Might try forever

When I get what I want, then I always want it again
When I get what I want, then I always want it again

Go on, take everything, make everything, I want you to
Go on, marvel everything, harvest everything I dare you to

And the sky was on auto-pilot
I give away my violets, more violets.
And I’m the one with no real goals
Some above and some below

Might last a day yeah
Might try forever
Might last a day, yeah
Might try forever

When I get what I want, then I always want it again
When I get what I want, then I always want it again

Go on, take everything, make everything, I want you to
Go on, marvel everything, harvest everything I dare you to

I told you from the start just how this would end
When the season comes on, it moves along again and again

Go on, take everything, make everything I want you to
Go on, eat everything, reap everything I want you to
Go on rake everything rake everything rake everything rake everything!

DSC01111

.

Finally, I want to share a poem that came to mind after I wrote this. I don’t read much poetry but I’ve loved Neruda and his Odes to Common Things for years and years. This seemed a fitting way to go out.

Ode to a Cluster of Violets

Pablo Neruda

Crisp cluster
plunged in shadow.
Drops of violet water
and raw sunlight
floated up with your scent.
A fresh
subterranean beauty
climbed up from your buds
thrilling my eyes and my life.

One at a time, flowers
that stretched forward
silvery stalks,
creeping closer to an obscure light
shoot by shoot in the shadows,
till they crowned
the mysterious mass
with an intense weight of perfume
and together
formed a single star
with a far-off scent and a purple center.

Poignant cluster
intimate
scent
of nature,
you resemble
a wave, or a head of hair,
or the gaze
of a ruined water nymph
sunk in the depths.
But up close,
in your fragrance’s
blue brazenness,
you exhale the earth,
an earthly flower, an earthen
smell and your ultraviolet
gleam
in volcanoes’ faraway fires.

Into your loveliness I sink
a weathered face,
a face that dust has often abused.
You deliver
something out of the soil.
It isn’t simply perfume,
nor simply the perfect cry
of your entire color, no: it’s
a word sprinkled with dew,
a flowering wetness with roots.

Fragile cluster of starry
violets,
tiny, mysterious
planet
of marine phosphorescence,
nocturnal bouquet nestled in green leaves:
the truth is
there is no blue word to express you.

Better than any word
is the pulse of your scent.

2 comments

  1. Thanks for liking my post!

    1. Sure thing! This was a hard one, I appreciate that you were able to come up with something so fitting.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

